Always Catching Up. Part I.

Well guys, it’s definitely time to catch you up on all that I have been up to these last few months. I have been travelling all over the place and simultaneously trying to figure out what the hell it is I want out of life. So far, it does not seem to matter where I am. I still have no clue where my life is heading, but I suppose that is the wonder of all of this.

Any who, let’s begin the craziness.

In March, my husband left D.C. to go do training in Texas and he was expected to be gone for a few months so I was living in the city by myself for some time. I was working 3 part time jobs, I graduated from Utah State University with my Associate of Science in biology and I still had friends in the city, so I kept myself pretty busy. I also spent my time travelling to the places I hadn’t been yet and to visit friends around here. I made a trip to North Carolina to visit my bestie, Caty, and her gorgeous family and to help them move into their new home. The day I got back, I drove to Pennsylvania to attend a gorgeous wedding for some friends. The next night, I found out my aunt, uncle, and cousins were in New Jersey to go house shopping so I made that drive to go to dinner and stay the night then the next day I went home and went to work. It was so much driving but worth it! (Spoiler alert: it was like a pre-game for the driving I’d be doing over the next few months).

As some of you may already know, on May 9th, 2017, my older brother passed away suddenly and I had to rush home from D.C. to Utah to be there for everything. To spare everyone the sadness, I won’t go into any of the details, but after all was said and done, I came to the conclusion that I needed to move home to be with my family. At the end of May, I came back to D.C. and started to pack up as many belongings as I could fit into my car. I went on a few adventures while I was here for a few days, including canoeing at Pocahontas State Park and drinking a few beers with my close friends. Then I crammed everything into my car and my two dogs and I drove all the way back to Utah. It is approximately a 32 hour drive but we saw that as a challenge and pulled it off in 38 hours. (I wouldn’t recommend this). Thankfully, my dogs looooove being in the car and I think they kind of like music too because every time I played Paul Cauthen, they howled.

Summary of my travels to Utah:

  • Washington, D.C.: Traffic & more traffic, especially in the mornings.
  • Maryland: Crabs. Also, someone was building a life-size recreation of Noah’s Ark. “World’s Largest Pencil”
  • Pennsylvania: I think I was there for like 30 minutes, so it is truly irrelevant. “World’s Largest Blue Crayon”
  • West Virginia: The mountains (rolling hills) are truly stunning. “World’s Largest Teapot”
  • Ohio: Bridges, arches, and construction. “World’s Largest Loaf of Bread”
  • Indiana: Still construction. “World’s Largest Ball of Paint.”
  • Illinois: There’s a big cross on the side of the road. Like really big. “World’s Largest Wind Chime”
  • Missouri: I drove by a Kansas City Royals game and I was in traffic so I could actually sit and watch it from the interstate. “World’s Largest Underwear”
  • Kansas: I stayed the night in Lawrence. I hate Kansas and I have nothing notable to mention because there is nothing notable in Kansas.
  • Colorado: The beginning is similar to Kansas but I was so excited to see the mountains and drive through the scenic Rocky Mountains. “World’s Largest Fork”
  • Utah: HOME. I wasn’t even tired by now because I was so excited and my music taste is amazing and Utah is beautiful. “World’s Largest Fishing Fly”

Trust me, there is so much more to my travels but I’ll be sharing it in bits and pieces from now on.

Hope you enjoyed Part I!

XOXO

One thought on “Always Catching Up. Part I.

Leave a Reply

