13 Reasons That I Didn’t Care For TH1RTEEN R3ASONS WHY 

Hey, it’s me, Kelley, live and on my computer and I’m here to tell you all of the ways that 13 Reasons Why let me down.

I know that the latest craze has been a Netflix Series, called 13 Reasons Why. If you have yet to watch this show, the breakdown is that a teenaged girl goes through some pretty harsh high school problems which lead to her committing suicide. She leaves behind tapes with thirteen reasons why she ended her life. The story lies in the tapes making their way through the group of people involved.

Netflix's_13_Reasons_Why_title_screen

Before I begin my rampage on this, I want to point out that I applaud their efforts in tackling the tough topic of suicide. However, I don’t believe the series will do anything to help anyone who is contemplating killing themselves and I’m about to tell you why along with a few other points I thought should be made.

So buckle up, kids. Here are 13 reasons that I didn’t like 13 Reasons Why. 

  1. I’m not sure what kind of high school they go to, but I don’t remember the kids in my school having that many tattoos and driving around crazy nice cars. Obviously, there were a few people with tattoos and a few people driving nice cars and every now and then, that was the same person, but for the most part, no one was like that.
  2. I also don’t recall the bullying in my school to be so prevalent that it would drive someone to kill themselves. I’m not saying that it didn’t happen and I’m also not trying to defend bullying in any way. It is not just and it should never happen. However, bullying didn’t have much of a place in my hometown. You spent your time in the company of people you liked and steered clear of the one that you didn’t and it was that simple.
  3. Hannah Baker comes off as an inspiration. Throughout the movie, they repeat over and over that when the main character kills herself, it was no ones choice but her own, but all 13 of the episodes explore her life and her tapes in an admiral way. How cool is it that this girl stood up for herself after she died? No. Her character should have been mourned but not worshiped. Suicide should not be an option nor should it be looked up to.
  4. Those parties were wild. Even in college, I have never been to a party that was like those. Again, what kind of a high school was this?
  5. Why did she keep going to the parties even though they never ended well? If I go to a party and it ends bad one time, chances are that I wouldn’t return to another one. Not to mention that if a person is having suicidal thoughts, maybe alcohol is not the way to go. Just saying.
  6. College is hard. And expensive. This is no reason for anyone to think it is not an option. College is important and even if you have to work 3 jobs to be able to afford an unheard of college, at least you are getting your foot in the door. In the episodes, Hannah Baker treated college as if it were something that could never happen because she was not smart or rich enough and all I have to say is that there are plenty of colleges and universities out there that will work with someone with these challenges (like me).
  7. Hannah Baker had more options. She chose suicide. No one made that choice for her. She never went to her parents because they were having issues of their own but did she honestly think that killing herself would help her parents at all? Furthermore, her counselor gave her chance after chance to confess her troubles, but she decided to keep it bottled up as if her embarrassment were worse than being dead for something that she didn’t even do.
  8. Life is not a game. At the beginning of her last tape, she stated that she was giving life one more chance, as if it were a game. Three strikes and you’re out. Life is not going to give you anything. You make your own decisions and if you say, “I’m giving you one more chance,” life is not going to reply with an, “Woah. My bad. I didn’t realize you were taking this seriously. I’ll take it easy on you.” It doesn’t work like that.
  9. “Life is like a box of chocolates.” Life is a gift but if you choose to live your life as if everything is the end of the world, then that is on you. No one can control the actions of others, but everyone has the opportunity to control their view on those actions.
  10. Are people really that terrible? This one is a little bit questionable because it is a question, rather than a statement. However, I find it hard to believe that a group of that many kids are really so terrible that they did not step forward with a confession of bullying sooner after Hannah Bakers suicide.
  11. Someone else had to have seen Hannah Baker being bullied. The plot is based in a fairly large high school and I can only assume that there were a few good-hearted people at the school that would have mentioned it before Hannah killed herself. C’mon, you can’t actually believe that a picture like that would get around the school without the teachers finding out can you?
  12. What kind of a person sits back and listens to her friend get raped? Or anyone for that matter?! This one really gets me because it forces me to think that maybe Hannah Baker is an awful person just like all of the other people that helped lead to her death. I understand that she was under the influence, but even a drunken slur of shouts would be enough to make that person stop what he’s doing or at the very least, it would get the attention of the other people at the party.
  13. It always gets better. High school is 4 years out of the 100 that everyone is given. I don’t think that any person should allow 4% of their life to ruin the other 96%. Once you graduate, you have the option to move away and change your life to become the person that you want to be.

Maybe I’m just a naive high school graduate, but I truly believe that 13 Reasons Why is a show with flaws, just like any other. I can’t worship this show like the rest of the people in my generation because I think it is highly overrated.

If you have something to tell me otherwise, I’d love to hear it.

Thanks for reading!

xoxo

Posted in Me

Leave a Reply

