DIY {country bathroom decor}

So, I woke up the other morning and said: “Holy crap, I want to DIY everything today!”

That’s exactly what I did.

My entire goal was to decorate my guest bathroom. It was a plain, white bathroom with no windows and not much to offer this world. The point is, I ordered a bunch of crap off Amazon and completely turned it around! So, if you want to know how I made a few cute decorations for my bathroom, keep reading. 💗

Vintage Chalkboard Boxes

This is the first thing I made. It was so simple! The only thing I didn’t love was that the crackle paint I bought was a little difficult to deal with. So here’s a list of things you’ll need:

  • 3 boxes or containers of your choice {I ordered mine from Amazon}
  • Cream colored base paint
  • Crackle paint
  • Top coat paints of your choice
  • Paint brushes
  • Chalk paint {optional}
  • Address labels {optional}

How to:

  1. The first thing you will need to do is paint the boxes with the cream colored base coat. You could really use and contrasting colored paint here but I chose a creamy white color in order to achieve the country farmhouse look. I only painted in the places you could see but if you want to paint it all, go for it! 
  2. Once that coat dries, you will take your crackle paint and paint everywhere you want the crackled effect, so I painted all of the box. The paint won’t crackle the base coat so it will just go on like a clear coat.
  3. After the crackle paint dries {which takes much longer than I expected}, you can go ahead and paint the top layers! I chose a brown, an auburn red, and a green, again to go along with the farmhouse theme.
  4. These last two steps are completely optional and were extremely unplanned for me. I had finished my boxes and thought to myself, “These are cute but not that cute,” so I decided chalkboard paint, of course! So I took an extra piece of the vinyl lettering stickers and spray painted them with my chalkboard paint. This would be much easier with plain white labels, but I used what I had on hand.
  5. Once the chalkboard paint dried, I cut them into the shapes I wanted and stuck them on!

I completely adore these! If anyone has any advice or requests on what they would like to see done, I would love to hear the input! I’ll  be posting the other DIYs on separate posts. 😋

xo – kelley

Leave a Reply

