I Should Be Writing an Essay But…

That title really says it all. I’m honestly in the process of writing a very fascinating essay on the pros and cons of vaccinating your children. Full sarcasm intended. Anyways, I didn’t log onto WordPress to bore you with my procrastination skills. I was just sitting here thinking about how I really wish I would not have been spoiled as a kid, because now, I want the finer things in life.

Now, slow down before you start to think, “Wow, that Kelley girl must be really high maintenance.” No. From the many Navy wives I have been around thus far into my husbands career, I can proudly say, I am not high maintenance. Kenyon should feel lucky. But, I’m not talking about always needing real diamonds or name brand clothes. I’m talking about all the little things that I took for granted and had always assumed I would be able to afford as a poor college student.

I grew up on a farm. Farms have cows. Farms have pigs. Farms have chickens. Cows mean beef. Pigs mean pork. Chickens mean eggs. So I always had a full stock of all of these things – farm pun intended. Even when I moved out, I still went over to my moms house and stole some ground beef out of her freezer to finish making my pathetic Hamburger Helper college meal. Now that I live in this wonderful city that I unfortunately have to call home, I have to buy my own meat because Utah is 32 hours away and that means no free farm fresh meat for me. So, unknowingly, I went to the grocery store and was said to myself, “oh, ground beef. Great!,” and I picked up the first package I saw. I came home and heated it up and added some water and I’m thinking to myself that dinner is going to be awesome. Needless to say, I was wrong. Apparently, store bought beef is already so processed that it doesn’t water to cook in. The second thing I found out was that it straight up tasted nothing like beef. The third thing I realized was that I paid $20 for a pound of beef that tasted like shit!

Now, enough about the meat thing. Lets remember other things. My mom bought essential oils from DoTERRA, so we always had extras on hand. I recently came down with a cold and of course, misplaced my peppermint oil. I didn’t have time to wait for a new oil to come; my cold would bee gone by then. So, I went to Target and bought the first oil I saw. It. Smells. Terrible. I didn’t think there would be a huge difference in the way the oil smelled. I knew the quality wouldn’t be same, but come on! It smells like moldy bread with a dab of toothpaste on top. I was so disappointed!

It truly is the little things, like having decorations for every holiday. I knew being on my own would be rough but I never anticipated missing home because of meat and essential oils. I guess I’ll be moving back in then, mommy!

Posted in Me

Leave a Reply

